Fair Housing Quarterly Activities

 The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting or buying a home, getting a mortgage, seeking housing assistance, or engaging in other housing-related activities.

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing because of:
•    Race
•    Color
•    National Origin
•    Religion
•    Sex (including gender identity and sexual orientation)
•    Familial Status
•    Disability

It is illegal discrimination to take any of the following actions because of race, color, religion, sex (including gender identity and sexual orientation), disability, familial status, or national origin:

•    Refuse to rent or sell housing.
•    Refuse to negotiate for housing.
•    Otherwise make housing unavailable
•    Set different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling.
•    Provide a person different housing services or facilities
•    Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale or rental
•    Make, print or publish any notice, statement or advertisement with respect to the sale or rental of a dwelling that indicates any preference, limitation or discrimination.
•    Impose different sales prices or rental charges for the sale or rental of a dwelling.
•    Use different qualification criteria or applications, or sale or rental standards or procedures, such as income standards, application requirements, application fees, credit        
analyses, sale or rental approval procedures or other requirements.
•    Evict a tenant or a tenant’s guest.

In order to meet Federal Guidelines, Bay County conducts Quarterly Fair Housing Activities to ensure that residents, employees, citizens and businesses are made aware of the Fair Housing Act and Guidelines.